“Walk Like an Egyptian”

It happened AGAIN last night. I was walking along our main road as a cool down after jogging to the “mall” and back…And 2 Egyptian gentlemen started walking towards me, one at an urgent pace with a very determined, friendly and excited look in his eyes. He reached out his hand and said, “Salam a lay koom” as I shook it. He then rattled out some more Arabic at rapid fire speed and I could only guess that he was asking me directions to some place. I told him that I didn’t speak Arabic and he was shocked. He told me that he thought I was a fellow Egyptian and couldn’t believe that I was from Canada.
There was a similar case about 2 months back when a taxi driver in Muscat told me that he almost didn’t stop to pick me up as he thought I was Egyptian. (I guess many Omanis have a bad impression of Egyptians…) One of my colleagues still occasionally calls me “Pharoah Andy” because of that incident.
Maybe this is the Lord’s way of reminding me that I have “come out of Egypt”, spiritually speaking. (Hebrews 8:9-13)
Anyway, I find it HILARIOUS that a small town Canadian white boy should be confused with an Egyptian! The desert sun must be doing some real damage to some peoples eyes out here!!!

One response to ““Walk Like an Egyptian”

  1. Now that I think about it, I am 1/32 native North American but that does not exactly make for an Egyptian look-a-like, does it?! 😉

Don't be Shy! Leave a Reply!

