My Favorite Door in Oman…


…is “the love door” at the Pastor’s place (aka “The Lighthouse“) in Ruwi, Muscat. It is from 1 Corinthians 13:4-7 which is arguably the most memorized poetry in the world after the 23rd Psalm.

On 1st glance, the love described in 1 Corinthians looks obtainable…but as this picture shows, it is quite another thing when “the world is on your back” and in the day to day events of life, if most of us would be honest, we would have to confess that:
We are not patient,
We are not kind.
We do envy. We do boast. We are proud.
We are rude. We are self-seeking.
We are easily angered, we keep long records of wrongs.
We often delight in evil and do not rejoice with the truth.
We do not always protect, do not always trust, do not always hope and do not always persevere.
That is because it is God’s love that is being described. It is only once we have accepted His love for us (provided on the cross) that we can even hope to begin to love others with His love.
“We love Him, because He first loved us. If a man say, I love God, and hateth his brother, he is a liar: for he that loveth not his brother whom he hath seen, how can he love God whom he hath not seen? And this commandment have we from Him, That he who loveth God love his brother also.” (1 John 4:19-20)

2 responses to “My Favorite Door in Oman…

  1. >Shalom, Andrew, mah shlomcha?Atah zocher oti miTASP??Thought it was hilarious, I stumbled across your blog today, and when I saw the pic of all the girls at your singles group, I knew right away which one you’d have your eye on!! And now to hear you’re getting married to her! ROFL!! Mazel tov!P.S. Were you always born again, even back in Beit Brodetzky? I wondered sometimes….

  2. >Hello, there, “Igotdanked”!Is this Victor Marks?!Thanks for the congratulations!Well, no, noone is ever ALWAYS born again!! I was searching for answering during my 2 years of living in Tel-Aviv, Israel but I wasn’t born again at that time. I didn’t give my life over to Christ for another year or so after the program finished and then I was baptized on May 5, 2002.Thanks for visiting!

Don't be Shy! Leave a Reply!

