Bowling Bonanza!!!

I LOVE bowling! Yes, I’m a real bowling geek.  I used to bowl all the time in South Korea but I rarely find the time here in Muscat.  (Now, just to clarify.  I was never a “real bowling nerd“, like the type who joins a bowling club, ha!ha!)  I suddenly got back in the mood and I’ve bowled 6 games this week at Al Masa Mall.  My right forearm was in some pain after all that action! (That line just didn’t sound right…but there it is.)  If you’ve never been to Al Masa Mall, let me take you on a little tour.

For North Americans, no need to worry about complicated foreign overseas shoe sizes!  They’re in “American size” (size 10 for me, for example)

16 lanes in total at Al Masa, so there’s always plenty of room! (Good form, Joji!)

OUCH! 92!!!  That’s got to be one of my lowest all time scores! Anything below 100 and you might as well go shoot yourself!  My friend, Joji, scored a 133.  Not only is that an amazing score, it’s all the more amazing when you consider that it was his first time bowling EVER IN HIS LIFE! WOW! (Good thing there were no wagers on that game!)

Yeah, STRIKE! That’s what I need!“, I’d tell myself as I looked at the front glass window.

Now that’s much better.  152!!! I think that’s the highest score I’ve ever bowled.  3 strikes in a row, peeps! That’s what we call a “Wild Turkey“! Gobble! Gobble! Gobble!

Al Masa Bowling Alley! What a blast!  Open Hours: 9:30am-1:00am  (Tel: +968 2469 3991)

There are a total of 3 vouchers for Al Masa Bowling Alley in Entertainer Oman 2011: 1 game + 1 free game, 2 games + 2 free games, and 3 games + 3 free games.  I used all 3 coupons this week. Each game costs 2 rials (including shoe rental) so I saved a total of 12 Omani rials!  🙂

6 responses to “Bowling Bonanza!!!

  1. Nice. We took students bowling at Masa Mall not too long ago. It was our most successful student event ever as far as I can tell (that means it’s true no matter what).

    Was your arm shaky the next day? hahaha.

  2. Hey, Wil!
    Good to see your comment here. My right forearm was aching pretty bad the first day after. It was on 2 different days. 3 bowling games on Thursday and then 3 more games in the middle of the week. I need to hit the gym! 🙂

  3. Not sure where to post a comment to you about this but wanted to say I’ll be moving to a place just north of Dubai in the middle of August. The place we applied to Oman didn’t work out but the one we’ve been hired by looks good and it’s pretty darn close to Oman too so I’m sure at some point we’ll be visiting . . .

    Once I have a new blog up for the new location I’ll share the link.

    Thanks for posting links for blogs about living and teaching in your region.
    J

  4. Sounds good, J!
    Keep me posted. It’d be great if we could meet up if/when you visit Oman!

  5. Greetings from Sur! I was just talking with a fellow teacher that Sur needs a bowling alley – not enough leisure activity here. I would love to team up with an Omani entrepreneur and try to build one here. I think it would be a hit!

Don't be Shy! Leave a Reply!

