SEEING

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

They took away what should have been my eyes,
(But I remembered Milton’s Paradise)
They took away what should have been my ears,
(Beethoven came and wiped away my tears)
They took away what should have been my tongue,
(But I had talked with God when I was young)
He would not let them take away my soul,
Possessing that, I still possess the whole.
(-Helen Keller)

6 responses to “SEEING

  1. What a blessing to read this today!

    • Glad you were blessed by it. Helen Keller and her devoted teacher are great inspirations and role-models and have brought encouragement to millions of blind (and seeing!) people around the world!

  2. 🙂 I’ve been running across some seriously good lines the last two days. Beautiful stuff, this.

  3. Antony,
    It’s your post on the poem “IF” that got me remembering some of my favorite poems and lead me to post this! You inspired me to write this! 🙂

  4. I wish there were more Arabic teachers like Helen’s in Oman:( sadly, in my family when anyone is blind and can’t hear, people just leave them to be in the room, food, hold hands, no other communication. THEY’RE NOT DUMB. If I spoke more Arabic I’d make a code. but in english I can’t:(

    • I’m sure there must be at least a few people helping out with blind people in Oman. May God bless their work as they assist the less fortunate! There is always the Al Noor Association for the Blind and I have a link to their site on the right side of my blog. (Their website is: http://alnoor4blind.org.om/)

Don't be Shy! Leave a Reply!

