Weekly Photo Challenge: Journey

Of course life is a journey, so when I read that this week’s photo challenge from wordpress was on the subject of “journey“, I immediately thought of “The Journey of Life Visual Presentation” aboard the Logos Hope (which is really a visualization of the Prodigal Son in Luke 15) I captured on film 15 months ago.  Many older readers might automatically think of the band Journey for this week’s photo challenge:

[youtube-www.youtube.com/watch?v=i5pUOVC50Y8&ob=av2e]

As a father, everything seems to come back to my family now so here are a few of my entries (and thoughts) for “journey“!  🙂

Just as on a physical journey there are physical landmarks and special pitstops, life’s sentimental journey is also full of many important moments of celebration and reflection such as my wife’s recent birthday. (Gershom is under the impression that any cake with candles on it is for him!  🙂 )

The journey of life is always full of special moments and memories of meeting up with fellow travellers.  This is a quick pic of some great people we met up with (through the blog) who visited Oman (coming from Zanbizar!) for a short vacation.  Here’s Roxanne’s blog, Immeasurably More, where you can follow their incredible journey.  (If you read this, Jason, it was awesome meeting up with you guys! Let us know if you ever make it back to Oman for another visit!)

Nafurahi kukuona, guys! 🙂 I must say that you’re the first white guys I’ve met who speak Swahili!

This photo of Gershom taking a journey on his chu-chu train was taken while he was waiting for his mommy and sister to return home from the hospital.  My journey through life is also a part of my son’s, my wife’s and my daughter’s journey as well.  In Oman, a new name/title I can add to my list of names is “Abu Gershom” (father of Gershom) and “Abu Naomi” (father of Naomi).

A journey doesn’t have to be long in distance to be exceptional.  When traveling with loved ones, even a journey through the mall can be filled with moments of fun and wonder.

An important moment on Gershom’s journey…meeting his little sister, Naomi, for the first time!

Hmm…Am I ready to be a big brother?

“Yes, I am! That’s MY sister!”  Gershom is so sweet.  As Naomi’s older brother, if he hears her crying he stops whatever he’s doing and comes running to see if she’s okay and cries, “Baby crying!”  Then he tells his mommy, “Carry, Mommy, Carry” like he knows that the baby needs to be picked up and taken care of!

“A journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step”.  God bless this foot (actually, both of them!), Naomi’s future steps (God willing) and her entire journey with God alongside her the entire way.

On any journey, you are limited by the amount of money you have, the amount of petrol you have in the gas tank, and the number of vacation days you have.  In life, we also have limitations, with the main one being time.  Our days are numbered.  I’m reminded of Moses’ prayer in Psalm 90 when he remarks that our life is limited to 70 years, or maybe 80 if we’ve got strength.  He then asks God, “Teach us to number our days, that we may gain a heart of wisdom.” (Psalm 90:12) Amen!

Thanks for taking the time to read my thoughts and share a part of my journey, reader.  The best way to end this post is with the famous Irish prayer for a journey:

May the road rise up to meet you.

May the wind always be at your back.

May the sun shine warm upon your face,

and rains fall soft upon your fields. 

And until we meet again,

May God hold you in the palm of His hand.

7 responses to “Weekly Photo Challenge: Journey

  1. Awwwwww, mAshAllah, SOOOOOOOO cute Gershom with his trains.

    -Naomi is my FAVOURITE name from the Bible BTW.

    I MISS Irish people!!!!!!!!!!!!! Oman needs a larger Irish community. I know we have some Scots, but I miss being lectured with Irish proverbs.

    • Princess,
      Thanks for the sweet words! I love watching Gershom playing with his trains! He is such a joy to be around and we thank God for him (and now Naomi!) everyday!

  2. How moving; very apropos selection for the photo challenge. Thank you for sharing your family with us. Mashallah, INDEED! 😀

    • Dulcinea,
      It’s amazing how apropos the photo challenge is (in many cases) for what’s going on in my life each week! It’s a pleasure sharing my precious family with you as they bring such joy to me personally. God bless you and your family! (loved your “inspiration” post on your 4 wonderful children by the way! 🙂 )

  3. Hello
    I like what Gershom said “Hmm…Am I ready to be a big brother?” it is a great saying .. God bless you Gershom and saves you and your daddy

Don't be Shy! Leave a Reply!

