Weekends SUDDENLY Changed from Thurs-Fri to Fri-Sat in Oman Starting May 1st!

WOW!  I thought this was a joke or wrong information when I first heard it on Twitter, but it seems that this is for real.  After 7 years of living in Oman, just when I was used to weekends on Thursday and Friday, they have announced a sudden change (starting May 1st) of weekends to be on Friday and Saturday.sorry-for-the-inconvenience - Copy                  This is part of the “work in progress” that I can totally understand.  His Majesty is trying to solve the major dilemna of everyone wanting to have government jobs.  It’s been difficult to convince folks to take private jobs (which Oman needs!) when those with government jobs always get more days off for holidays and work on different days than other folks.  It may seem annoying for people now, but it’s probably the wisest choice in the long run.  It may take some time for us to get used to the expression, “TGIT – THANK GOD IT’S THURSDAY!”  🙂

For those who love travelling up to Dubai, this will obviously be good news to match the weekend up there.  On a similar note, the UAE and Canada have finally ended a 27 month diplomatic war which made it extremely expensive for Canadians to visit the UAE.  I guess this Canadian boy should start thinking about making a few weekend trips up north!

How does everyone feel about this sudden change?  I’m sure the private sector folks are pretty happy!

30 responses to “Weekends SUDDENLY Changed from Thurs-Fri to Fri-Sat in Oman Starting May 1st!

  1. I had no idea weekends were different elsewhere, but I guess it makes perfect sense that not everywhere would be the same. I can see how it will be a very difficult change. How interesting!

    • Jessica,
      Fascinating, isn’t it?! The move to this “new weekend” is a sign of how the global community, especially related to commerce, can slowly change things. What makes this change even more interesting is that they have talked about making such a change for YEARS but only revealed it to the public today, with 3 weeks notice. This new change has got everyone talking over here! Thanks for commenting.

  2. I’m pleased; easier to do business with the rest of the world, football on saturday (although the season is going to end soon!), and trips to UAE are easier. However, 1st May is the start of my annual leave so i’ve just lost a day! Ha.

    • Daniel,
      It doesn’t affect me much at all, but I’m pleased as well. I don’t think things have been fair for those in the private sector when it comes to holidays. Thanks for commenting. I always appreciate your positive outlook on things. Cheers!

  3. Berthold Kynast

    This should have come way earlier, but good that it is coming now at least. For me it was a huge problem because as long as the company I work for had no branch in Oman, interested customers from there had to be invited to the events in Dubai, but that was always a problem because of the different weekends. So now it wiil be better for congruent business times in the UAE as well as in other countries of the world with Saturday and Sunday weekends.

  4. Hi Andy, I am new here in your blog. congrats for it! Me and my husband are considerening an offer to move to Muscat. Can you help us with some info? General cost of living. Maid, nanny and driver salaries – are these professionals easy to hire? Thank you in advance. PS. English is not my native language so excuse me for some mistakes.

    • Chris,
      Welcome! I wish I could help you out with info regarding cost of living and salaries of maids/nannies/drivers, but it really is such a personal thing to calculate cost of living as each individual and family is so unique! I think your best bet is checking out such things at omanforum.com or expatmums in Oman (goodle them) who often give people great detailed pointers about moving to Oman. We’ve never had a maid, nanny or driver so I’m not qualified to discuss such employment issues. Hopefully someone reading this comment might give you more help. Grammar is never checked here so feel free anytime to visit and comment! 🙂

  5. So we can go to UAE now without a pre-applied for visa? Boxie (the blogger) told me about this weeks ago) but I hadn’t heard anything in ME yet about it.

    • Princess,
      I don’t believe we ever needed a pre-applied visa as we are GCC residents. This mostly applies to Canadians visiting the Middle East directly from Canada.

  6. So we are now even with those who are in Private sectors.

  7. I’m jealous! 🙂 Wonder if the UAE will ever follow suit…

  8. But what about May 2 ? will it be a working day ?

    • jyot,
      That’s the million dollar question! If it’s a working day, some are complaining that it will be the end of a 6-day work week. Some are some guessing that they might give us a long weekend (May 2nd-4th) as a transition while others think they might start the last working week of April on Sunday (April 28th) to ensure a 5 day work week. I guess we’ll have to wait and see.

  9. This is great news for so many reasons and I like the way it is decided then implement. No waiting round for 12 months, just do it!

  10. Mr.Debashih continue his assault on you in newspaper as well, take care…

    • Thanks for sharing this “objective piece of journalism”, ha! “Virus…termite…parasite” and than even more slander to accuse me of being paid as a “Zionist collaborator”! Some have suggested that I sue this poor excuse for a journalist with slander and I will be speaking with a lawyer in the near future.

  11. ”For those who love travelling up to Dubai, this will obviously be good news to match the weekend up there. On a similar note, the UAE and Canada have finally ended a 27 month diplomatic war which made it extremely expensive for Canadians to visit the UAE. I guess this Canadian boy should start thinking about making a few weekend trips up north!”

    I have found your quote from your post in the newspaper but the person being asked for the opinion about new holidays is somebody different.
    As anybody is stealing your posts to be published in the newspaper I just wanted inform you about that.Or are you ”double agent” working by pseudonym in the Observer?:-)

  12. Wow, my first comment was to reminisce about my childhood in Brunei and the different weekends we had…after reading the last comments I’m now a little worried. Take care bro! You are certainly a famous person 🙂

Don't be Shy! Leave a Reply!

