Will Omantel EVER Get it Right?!?!

My problems with Omantel go back years here in the Sultanate.  First, it took weeks and weeks to get the internet set up in our apartment.  Then there was a problem because they managed to set up TWO ACCOUNTS in my name.  After more than 5 visits to their main office on the Nizwa Road and countless phonecalls, it SEEMED to be fixed.  Guess again!  The internet at our house has been shut down once again.  I STILL get 2 bills every month in the mail: one that is correct and up to date and another that continues to add another 20 rials to this mysterious 2nd account that refuses to die and is now at something like 280 OR (or around $700 US).  Every time I visit their office, they tell me not to worry; that the account has been closed and just to ignore such bills.  Once again, I will have to take hours out of my busy schedule to visit the billing department on the 4th floor and have someone look me in the eye and say, “Yes, your problem has been solved. No problem. You can be sure it’s solved!”  “Annoying” falls so short in trying to describe the frustration of dealing with this issue!

update 3 days later: I’m back on line! Big thanks to Mohammed Al Juma for sorting out the problems with the line, Khalid (the technician) for  sorting out the configuration problems once Mohammed took care of the line and also a big thanks to Adil Al Areimi (in the billing department at Omantel HQ) for constantly keeping me updated on the cell-phone.  There is hope for Omantel yet!  🙂  I was seriously impressed with these 3 men and their efforts to help.

15 responses to “Will Omantel EVER Get it Right?!?!

  1. Nope, they won’t 😉

  2. Welcome to Oman(Tel)!

  3. Haha, this sounds like my struggles with Etisalat, one of the 2 internet and cell phone providers in the UAE. I’m almost 100% switched to the other company, Du, and I couldn’t be happier! Do you have a better option?

    • Our options are bad or worse! (Omantel and Nawras – folks can make their own guesses as to which one is “bad” and which is “worse”.) They also have “Friendy” which I found to be an extremely expensive option for someone who is on the internet a lot.

  4. Hey Andy….you’re not alone.
    I also have two accounts, one for my landline and one for the internet. I ask every month to join the two but NOTHING gets ever done despite the promises.
    The funny thing is that my landline somehow is connected to a marble company (WTF?) and they seem to pay the bill regularly 😉

  5. It’s nothing guys compared to my electricity bills.You’d be surprised then….

    • I’ve heard several people say that their electricity bill is quite high. We are surprised each month with just how low our water and electricity bills are compared with other places around the world!

  6. Andy, as per Maurizio’s comment above, maybe the solution is to ask Omantel to connect your mystery line to a marble company. In fact, maybe that’s the solution to many of our problems. Get me the name of that marble company. I’ve got a student loan I’d like to pass on.

  7. I requested a change of address for my fixed line more than two months ago. Despite visiting them twice a week and calling them numerous times, nothing has been done so far. Omantel is installed in my building but still I dont know whats taking them so long and they never seem to explain (or understand themselves). Only solution is to get Nawras now 😦 Or maybe start a blog lol

    • maybe! 😉 One thing you can try doing is to get the number of the technician in the area you live. Once I got the technician’s number, it was just a matter of constantly calling until he showed up at the house.

      • I just went and closed my connection and they were extremely prompt with that lol ironic. I asked the lady if they write reason for disconnection or any sort of feedback, the sort of smile she gave me lol I knew she was ROFLing inside….Oh well!

        Got Nawras Wimax, works great 🙂

        • I had a similar experience when closing my Nawras account several years ago. I guess their rates are much better now. The important thing is that you found something that works! 🙂

Don't be Shy! Leave a Reply!

