The 1st Tiger I’ve Seen in Oman!! Well…kind of!

tiger warning?!  I quickly saw this sign on the drive from Sur to “Turtle Beach” (Ras al Hadd).  The sign appeared so suddenly that the only thing I had time to read was the word “tiger”.  On the way back, I stopped to take a closer look…tiger in the distance  There’s the “tiger figurine” in the distance on the drive from Ras Al Hadd to Sur.Tiger near Sur  It seems that a few locals painted the side of the roadside cliff as they felt it was shaped like a tiger.  It has become a small landmark now and hence the warning sign which asks drivers to be careful not to hit people who may have stopped their vehicles to take a pic or two.the Sur road tiger  By the way, as far as I know, there are no tigers in Oman.  I have heard, however, that there are a very small number of leopards here.  Read up on it here, if you are interested:  http://www.wildlifeextra.com/go/world/oman-nepal-leopards.html#cr

These pics are just a small example of why I try to bring my camera wherever I go as you never know what you’re going to see here in Oman!  🙂

One response to “The 1st Tiger I’ve Seen in Oman!! Well…kind of!

  1. I had a dream about something similar, that being a tiger painted on a mountain, I wonder which other places in the world have similar paintings on mountains , I’m pretty sure it means something. Thanks for posting.

Don't be Shy! Leave a Reply!