Great Logo! Oman National Transport Co.

  I love this logo from Oman National Transport Co.  It has the national animal of Oman, the Arabian oryx, and the Omani flag which make it easily recognizable.  This bus company is the only real public transportation system available in the Sultanate (apart from shared taxis).  Here is the timetable available on omanet.  Check out the Oman National Transport Co. website for more details if you’re in the Sultanate and don’t have the luxury of owning a car.  You can get some interesting details such as the fact that they have 320 buses in their fleet, find out how to book a ticket online or call their toll free number at (+968) 24492948 (24 hours) for general fare and schedule information.

10 responses to “Great Logo! Oman National Transport Co.

  1. Ohhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh SOOOOOOOOOOOO good to know! Thank you!

  2. My pleasure! 🙂

  3. I want to take the bus from Abu Dhabi to Muscat, and I can see the schedule on the omanet site, but the other link here isn’t working for me and I can’t get the ONTC website to open. I need to know where the stop is in Abu Dhabi, and getting tickets online would be gravy. Can you help, please?

  4. William,
    Hi, there!
    Please forgive me for not posting the ONTC website correctly. It’s been fixed now. http://www.onctoman.com I hope you manage to find the stop in Abu Dhabi and are able to get tickets online. Take care!

  5. Thank you!! The ONTC’s table is very difficult to find, and I finally find it here. But I don’t know the version 2010-2011 whether is up-to-date?

  6. Thank you Andy!

    Actually I will visit Oman next month (Oct. 2012) for holidays. And I won’t rent car, so the public transportation is very important to me. I am come from Taiwan. Nice to discover your blog! 🙂

    Luca

    • Masakichi,
      My pleasure. I’m sure you’ll have a fabulous time here in Oman! Let me know if there’s anything I can help you out with. All the best!

  7. Hello Andy,

    My plan in Oman as below:

    Airport -> Seeb -> Barka -> Nakhal -> Rustaq -> Ibri -> Nizwa, Bahla, Jabrin -> Muscat -> Airport

    I read some travel guidebook such as LP and knew there are so many forts/castles, wadis, jebels, beaches and so on in Oman. But I won’t have myself vehicle there, so I will travel by public transportation and engaged taxi. I would like have some wadi hiking or Misfat Al Abreyeen but it seems be difficult to me for transportation issue. So visiting some spectacular forts, mosques or traditional souqs would be the core of my trip. What’s your opinion? Could you provide me some suggestions? 🙂

    And I also read some information about many Omani forts would close to public for recondition. Do you know some forts whether open or not? Such as Barka fort, Nakhal fort, Rustaq fort and Bahla fort. I think there are too many forts in my schedule, I want to decrease them and do replacement.. Do you have a idea about it?

    Thanks a lot in advanced!

    Best Regards,
    Luca (Masakichi)

    • Hi Luca,
      Seems like you’ve done a bit of research. Sounds like quite the plan. How long will you be here for exactly? What you can realistically choose to do obviously depends on the length of time you plan of staying in Oman. Just be warned that taxi rides to all those places won’t be cheap! I think it would be much better to rent a car for the day. You can do it from a number of car rentals at the airport right in the arrivals section. Get back to me with the length of your stay so I can get a better idea of what you can realistically cover. BTW, the big forts such as Nizwa Fort and Jabrin Fort are almost always open during their recorded hours of business so you’re in luck there! 🙂 Keep me posted.

Don't be Shy! Leave a Reply!