New Pastor Arrives in Muscat!

There’s a new addition to the pastoral staff at the PCO (Protestant Church in Oman)!!!  Reverend Barry Dawson and his wife, Shelly, arrived in Muscat on August 31 to take over duties from outgoing pastor Jack Buteyn who left this summer.  The pic above is of them introducing themselves briefly during last Friday’s service, September 2nd.

It was a real pleasure talking with the Dawsons before church started.  It’s very clear that are “people persons” and have a heart for serving others.  Perhaps this comes from all their overseas service, having served the expat community in Tokyo Union Church, Japan as well as the American Church in Paris, France for several years.

I was really impressed with the way Pastor Barry and Shelly went to the front door and made a point of shaking hands with everyone as they left, trying to learn the names of individual members of the congregation right away.  I’m sure that they will be a huge blessing to the entire church in Oman and I’m looking forward to hearing Reverend Barry’s sermons.

If you are a fellow believer, please pray:

  • For the grace of God to allow them a smooth transition here in the Sultanate; that they’d feel comfortable with a sense of belonging right away.
  • That God would use this couple to reach out and draw more new residents in Oman to the PCO.
  • That they (and we all) would be examples of Christ’s love to our Omani neighbors.
  • That there would be strong unity/support in the church office and that there would indeed be a renewed sense of unity within the Protestant Church in Oman!

21 responses to “New Pastor Arrives in Muscat!

  1. Blessings from Chris and Rio in Tokyo for Pastor Barry and Shelly.
    Two wonderful witnesses of Christ who helped us growing and developing our dance/ballet ministry downtown here in Tokyo.
    Thanks for sharing this on your page Andy!
    Chris

  2. Chis and Rio,
    What a blessed surprise to hear from those who know and love Pastor Barry and Shelley all the way from Japan!!! That’s cool that you found news of their arrival here on my blog. Thanks for stopping by and commenting. God bless!

  3. Chris & Rio,
    More of an update. I mentioned hearing from you on my blog to Pastor Barry and he was so excited and happy to hear greetings from you. Thanks for making his day! God bless!

  4. Barry was our pastor ih Kalispell, Mt. 23 years ago.
    I felt spiritually close to Barry & Shelly.
    Barry was an exceptional pastor, and Shelly was an exceptional pastor’s wife.
    You have been blessed that God called them to Oman.
    Blessings,
    Gloria Puckett

  5. Gloria,
    Thanks so much for taking the time to let us know your wonderful experience of having Barry as your pastor. We are already aware of what an exceptional pastor and pastor’s wife they are! We realize just how blessed we are to have them and as I’m sure they’d agree, “to God be the glory!” 🙂
    Thanks again for this lovely comment. God bless!

  6. I am a Kenyan teaching English in Rwanda and I am highly interested to live and work in Oman. Please give me more information on institutions and how to apply.
    Kind regards.

  7. Haron,
    Good to hear from you in Rwanda. My best advice that I keep giving people is to check available jobs that turn up for Oman at: http://www.eslcafe.com/joblist/ You might want to also check out this link which I posted on some time ago: http://www.goteachabroad.com/teach-in-oman All the best to you! 🙂

  8. Dear Pastor,
    Am happy that you are working there in Muscat I am a Filipino , I will be going to Muscat soon my papers arrive and my work visa as well. I will be teaching there how I wish and I pray that there will be a Christian school there so i can swiitch my teaching from other school to Christian school. I wanna be involved in the church ministry as well. I am teaching in the Christian school for 20 years already. I have my own preschool here in Manila. Am blessed and much excitement when I saw your name that you arrived there in Muscat. God bless your ministry and take care.. Dallyn

    • Magdalena,
      Thanks for the comment. I’m sure Pastor Barry would love to read this comment. I hope he does someday. We have plenty of Filipino Christians who attend our services (including my wife!). I hope you are able to fellowship with us soon in the Sultanate of Oman. God bless as you prepare to come over to Oman to teach. Yes, it would be fantastic to have a Christian school here. With such a huge Christian expatriate community, why not? Let’s pray that such an opportunity arises in the future by the will of God. God bless you and the family! 🙂

  9. Dallyn Tubay

    I am happy with your reply, May I know the location of your chiurch there next month i will be there. i would like to commit my time as well in the chiurch if you need some worker in the church. Is there any ministry needed in your church this time? I am a Sunday school teacher from children , youth and adult.. to the different minsitry in ithe church what is the most needed there now so may I know and brace myself to fit that ministry and i love to pray for it. I would like to continue my studies in pastoral ministry if you have it there. I would like share my talent when i get there. Please pray for my financial needs to raise money and get my ticket as soon as possible. Thank you in advance . Shalom and may the Lord bless and give you right direction in serving Him until He comes.
    .

    • All info regarding the location of the church (maps available) are found on the church website at http://www.churchinoman.com (We are working on getting a better website soon!). There’s always a need for more volunteers at the church so don’t hesitate to get involved once you arrive. Blessings to you as you prepare to come to Oman. Do you have a job here or something lined up here? We have fulltime pastors in ministry here and others are mostly in volunteer positions.

  10. dallyn tubay,

    Thank you pastor for your reply. I appreciate your warm welcome. My friend who is engineer in Jabal Oman is requesting me to come there as a tourist for the meantime. He advertized my name in the newspaper.,so a lot of inquiries regarding my tutorial services in Muscat area. And one of the school in Muscat wanted me to go there personally and submit my requirements but am still praying for the owner because they are now in the States. That’s why I search some Christian churches there so that I can volunteer myself to be involved in the church while tutoring some students -since my time is not so tight and demanding. I have to grab the time serving the Lord to the different ministries enjoying my life to share God’s word to the dying world nowadays. I was happy when I saw the couple arrived in MUscat i was challenged to be a part of ministry. It is good that your wife is a Filipina have you visited Philippines already? It is a very nice place to live in…I was able to reach out Muslim in Mindanao area by feeding program and sharing the love of Jesus to them. Hope and pray that we can share and introduce Jesus to all those who don’t believe to our Saviour…This time i want to make the most of my time when i am the before too late .God bless you God called you in that ministry and to those people around there. May you will be a vehicle of blessing to all men.
    By the way i have my own preschool here in Manila. I taught Elementary to High school students teaching for 21 years in a Christian school in Metro Manila. I want to explore in other countries bringing the gospel of the Lord as well as teach children and leading them to the right path-for eternity. purposes not only academics but to their spiritual aspect of their lives.

    May the Lord bless you always and your family.

    • Thanks for your message. I’m not a pastor though – just a blogger who loves the Lord and mentions church activities at the PCO from time to time. If you do come over as a tourist, you’ll need to get a visa beforehand as Filipinos cannot get get a visa on arrival in Oman, as I’m sure you’re already aware. Let me know if you do make it to Oman. Many blessings!

  11. Hi everyone ,
    I am coming to Oman in March and really like to participate to your prayer service since I am there . Could you please give me the address of your church ? Hope to see you over there . God bless you all .

  12. hi andy
    my name is annie and i’m a filipino…i sent u email.. (c4annie@gmail.com) hope u receive it…am a christian and an English teacher…want to work in Oman and be part of a church there…work and mission in one…looking forward to ur response to my email..thanks!!!

  13. hi andy
    oh i’m sorry i sent 2 follow-ups…initially, the first did not appear on the screen…so i hit twice
    i used to be quite apprehensive about working in Oman…but felt relieved upon learning of a dynamic church there…it is my first time to work abroad and be far away from my family so i really want to have a home church… to minimize my anxieties 🙂 i hope

  14. i hope to do some mission work in Oman

  15. God bless the Pastor with amazing Ministries and testimonies. I pray that our Good Lord and saviour will open many doors for his ministry and many people will come to know our Lord… Amen

    • Amen! Keep praying for the Church in Oman as we are still seeking a pastor for the church in Sohar and servant leaders for the children and youth in Muscat.

Don't be Shy! Leave a Reply!